The European Commission has selected CLC members Espoo, Tampere, Turku and Lahti for the list of Europe’s 100 leading climate cities.

CLC city members selected will be eglible for the EU’s Horizon Europe program which will provide 360 million euros to the 100 cities to promote green transition and digitalization. All leading climate cities aim to be carbon neutral by 2030.

The goal is to develop cities into innovation centres that will lead their peers by example in the transition to carbon neutrality by 2050. At the same time, the mission will advance the European Green Deal initiative that aims to make Europe the first carbon neutral continent by 2050.

Turku joined CLC in 2016, Espoo and Tampere in 2018 and Lahti in 2020.

“CLC congratulates its city members on the selection to the list of Europe’s 100 leading climate cities. The contribution of Espoo, Lahti, Tampere and Turku to our climate network has been exemplary and inspiring. The role of the cities in achieving the agreed climate goals and carbon neutrality is essential and their cooperation with companies is important. Cites have also excellent opportunities to showcase the climate know-how of our companies internationally through cities’ own networks”, says Tuuli Kaskinen, CEO, CLC.

Europe’s leading climate cities will meet in Espoo in June at the Eurocities network forum.

More information: Tuuli Kaskinen, CEO, Climate Leadership Coalition, and Kari Mokko, Development Director, Climate Leadership Coalition,, +358 40 7513281